skip to main content


Congratulations to our girls varsity basketball team on their playoff win over Babylon, 55-37. The girls will take on Mattituck in the Suffolk B finals on Friday, February 21. The game will start at 6 p.m. at Centereach High School.
$8 admission fee if tickets purchased online at

$10 admission fee (cash only) if purchased at the door

Hope to see you there!

100 Days of School

100 Days of School thumbnail164549

Kindergarten Class Creates Appreciation Keychains

Kindergarten Class Creates Appreciation Keychains thumbnail162616
Kindergarten students are sharing their appreciation to deployed military with a special project. The students in Ms. Allison Coppi and Ms. Meagan Bellantuono’s class each made USA and LOVE keychains for the troops as well as Valentine’s Day cards with loving messages. The project was especially heartfelt for student Finn Gronenthal, whose mother came in to help with the project. Finn’s father passed away while serving our country when he was just a baby. Finn has a military mentor, Petty Officer Jon Bellomy, who is currently deployed to Afghanistan. He is a medic serving in the Navy, and the gifts will be sent to him to share with other military personnel. “The keychains look amazing and because it was for the troops, the children worked extra hard,” Ms. Coppi said. “They are very proud to be a part of something so special.”

Rave Reviews for ‘Bugsy Malone JR.’

hive badge available thumbnail162615
The Port Jefferson Middle School Drama Club presented “Bugsy Malone JR.” to the applause of appreciative audiences on Feb. 7 and 8. Dozens of students from the middle school and high school took part as directors, choreographers, set designers, lighting and technical directors, and crew, with music directed by Port Jeff alumnus Bridget Yost. Along with middle school/high school librarian Mrs. Mary LaSita, who serves as the club’s adviser, the production is a combined effort of months of planning and rehearsals that culminated in another successful performance. Congratulations to all involved for putting on a great performance!


A work session meeting of the Port Jefferson School District Board of Education will be held on February 25, 2020, 7:00 p.m., in the Large Group Room at Edna Louise Spear Elementary School, for a second draft presentation of the 2020-2021 school year budget; and, any other business as may be needed. The meeting will be live-streamed via the school district website. Meeting agendas are available on the District’s website the day prior to the meeting.

Tuesday, February 18, 2020